Should I get a tattoo?

tatoo

Original Picture (C) 2014 pattharp.com

Tattoo’s have come a long way baby. They use to be something sailors got on long deployments overseas, or something a convict got in prison while doing time, but today they are mainstream.

Tattoo’s have been embraced  by our culture as expressions of art, faith, fantasy, life, music, pop culture, tributes, memories, and nature.  Younger people have them as well as older people. It has been said that behind every tattoo is a story. And for the most part it is a story you will carry for the rest of your life.

Once I was in a band and all the guys got our band logo tattooed on their arms. It was our band name, “Slingshot” with a bullseye behind it. ..everyone except me. I thought it was a dumb idea, because one day, we would break up and you would be left with this mark for the rest of your life. We broke up  within the year. Band names and relationships are bad tattoo themes.

Many of my friends and family members have been “inked.” (This picture is my youngest brothers arm and my arm. He actually has a tattoo of Nicholas cage, which reportedly “saved a girl” from suicide…true story.)

As a Christian, I see no Biblical prohibition against tattoo’s but we do have some guidelines. 1 Cor. 10:21, is one. “…whatever you do, do all for the glory of God.” If a tattoo can be done for the glory of God, make it count bro!

Here is why I have not been inked yet…

  1. I don’t like needles and I don’t like paying for pain…(Ha!)
  2. Finding something you want to have marking your body for life seems like an agonizing process. ( Its not like choosing shirts, shoes, or lunch!)
  3. “If” I ever got a tattoo, because of my extreme personality, it would have to be a full-colored arm sleeve of “creation, the fall, Christ, the cross, redemption, and the reconciliation of all things” which would be so painful and so costly that I wince right now at the thought of it…(I’m a wimp.)

So…Enjoy your tattoo’s my friends, no judgement from me. May you glorify Christ with your ink and needles. If you got a dumb tattoo because you didn’t have enough money (had a friend who did that) or you had to much to drink, like Robin Williams in “Old Dogs,” I would advise removal or simply leave it as a testimony against impulse or idiocy.

I will watch and cheer you on with un-inked arms.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

