My Cluttered Life

photo-11 copy

Original Picture ©2013 pattharp.com

It hit me…my life is disorganized.  I can make all the excuses I want, but the bottom line is that my life is disorganized. When I look in my office, I see clutter, when I look in my closet, I see clutter, when I look next to my bed, I see clutter, and this actual picture of my work van shows tools, bottle returns, groceries, ladders and a mess! I’m not a hoarder, and I do not particularly enjoy clutter, but instead of making space in life to handle things, I default to the pile method. Put it in the pile and deal with it later. I know “where it is” but I never get back to it.

I decided that in 2014, I am going to “do life” differently. I can either continue with the pile method, or I can make some changes that in the long run will be a greater blessing.

  • Spiritual…I am going to read through my Bible in 1 year. I have read through the Bible  on my own, but systematically I want to be committed to that again.
  • Educational…I am going to read more and spend less time online. I read a great blog on reading 50 Books in a year, by Josh Stringer. Reading autobiography, history, business, leadership, finances, and fiction, I want to think more and worship God with the brain and time He’s given me. To prep this process, I am currently reading Lit! A Christian Guide to reading Books, by Tony Reinke, I highly recommend it.
  • Relational…I am going to spend more time with my family and good friends. I planned out all my vacation time for the rest of the year. To do this, I am going to say “no” to be able to say “yes” to more important things. As Clarence wrote to George bailey in the movie, “Its a wonderful life, “He is no failure who has friends.”
  • Financial…I am going to live by a budget. After taking Financial Peace and becoming a disciple of Dave Ramsey through his podcast’s and radio shows, there is no reason to not make smart and biblical financial choices that will be a blessing in the long run.

I am very thankful for close and dear friends and mentors like Pastor Ray Viola and Ben Hiwale who have love me, support me, and pray for me. I also am thankful for those who through their blogs and podcasts have been more than generous with their wisdom, counsel, and resources…Thank you Dave Ramsey, Michael Hyatt,  and Thom Rainer.

All of these influences and many more, by God’s grace, have inspired me to make some changes, and to that I am very grateful. If I can make these habits a daily rhythm in my life, I believe they will stick. I’ll let you know in 2015 how I did! My cluttered life is getting a make over!

What are you planning on doing differently in 2014?

This entry was posted in Faith, Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

